GILBERT - The Gilbert Chamber of Commerce announces its endorsement of Republican candidate Christine Jones to represent Arizona's Fifth Congressional District in the United States House of Representatives.

"The caliber of Republican candidates in the race made this decision difficult as each candidate brought a high level of experience and knowledge with respect to their leadership skills and legislative expertise," said Joan Krueger, Chairwoman of the Chamber's Board of Directors.

According to Krueger, the scoring process used by the Chamber’s Public Policy Committee resulted in high ratings for Jones. The Chamber Board of Directors concurred with the ratings and support Jones for her ability to have successfully passed legislation as a corporate executive at the federal level by working across the aisle to find common ground.

"Christine's business background enhanced by her legal proficiency brings a perspective that would enhance the business community's agenda on the Hill," Krueger said.

The Chamber's Public Policy committee considered endorsements based on each candidate's voting record on the Chamber's local and state priority bills (if incumbents), past and current community leadership and engagement, experience with the management of complex budgets, understanding and support of a pro-business environment including "in the trenches" experience with dealing with regulation overreach, as well as the willingness to work with the Gilbert Chamber on policies and issues having significant impact on Gilbert's business environment.

In addition to the endorsement of Jones, the Gilbert Chamber of Commerce announced in June the endorsement of town, legislative districts 12 and 17, and Maricopa County Supervisor candidates:

Gilbert Town Mayor (1 seat) – 
Jenn Daniels

Gilbert Town Council (2 seats) –
Scott Anderson and Bob Ferron

Legislative District 12 Senate (1 seat) – 
Warren Petersen

Legislative District 12 House (2 seats) – 
Eddie Farnsworth and Travis Grantham

Legislative District 17 Senate (1 seat) –
Steve Yarbrough

Legislative District 17 House (2 seats) –
JD Mesnard, Jeff Weninger

Maricopa County Supervisor District 1 (1 seat) –
Denny Barney

Maricopa County Supervisor District 2 (1 seat) –
Steve Chucri

Video coverage of recent candidate forums can be found on the Chamber's Facebook page – To learn more about all the candidates and to view their responses to the Chamber's written questionnaire, visit the Chamber's website at

The Gilbert Chamber of Commerce is a nonprofit, membership-based organization with more than 670 members ranging from home-based businesses to large corporations and representing more than 52,000 employees. The Chamber proactively serves as a business advocate to strengthen the business climate in Gilbert. To learn more about or join the Chamber, please contact (480) 892-0056 or visit