Guest Blog Editor's avatar
Arizona 2018 Primary Election What it Means to You

By Dorn Policy Group

Arizona’s Primary Election, held on Tuesday, helped to provide clarity as to the mood of the electorate. Turnout was typical for an off-presidential year primary election. Unofficial primary results indicate a turnout of 25% which will increase by a few points throughout the next few days as provisional ballots are counted. Turnout in 2014 was 27.2%. This means that both Democrat and Republican base voters are set and the November General Election will be decided by the moderate and independent voters.


In a remarkable upset, reminiscent of past legislators seeking the office of Speaker of the House, incumbent Darin Mitchell (R-Goodyear) failed to make it past the Republican Primary Election. His defeat likely solidifies veteran lawmaker Rusty Bowers (R-Mesa) as the heir apparent to the Speakership.

The House Majority Leader position remains in question following the primary election. Odds favor Jeff Weninger (R-Chandler). However, Warren Petersen (R-Gilbert), Mark Finchem (R-Oro Valley) and Anthony Kern (R-Glendale) have indicated an interest in the seat.

Several surprises occurred in Senate races in Tuesday’s primary election. Most notably, Drew John (R-Safford) was defeated by former House Speaker David Gowan (R-Sierra Vista). Michelle Ugenti-Rita (R-Scottsdale) defeated Tim Jeffries (R-Scottsdale) likely making Karen Fann (R-Chino Valley) the next President of the Senate.


As expected, Governor Doug Ducey will face David Garcia in November. In a surprising turn of events, incumbents Michelle Reagan, Diane Douglas, and Tom Forese, lost their races for Secretary of State, Superintendent of Public Instruction and Corporation Commission, respectively.

Republican newcomer Steve Gaynor will face State Senator Katie Hobbs for Secretary of State. Attorney General Mark Brnovich will face January Contreras for the State’s top law enforcement official. State Senator Kimberly Yee will face Mark Manoil for State Treasurer. Frank Riggs will face Kathy Hoffman for Superintendent of Public Instruction. Incumbent Commissioner Justin Olson and Democrat turned Republican Rodney Glassman will face Sandra Kennedy and Kiana Maria Sears for two seats on the Corporation Commission. 

Should you have any questions about these or other races around the State of Arizona, please contact Dorn Policy Group at (602) 606-4667.